introducing “savvy wedding wednesday”

When Chris and I first got engaged I was extremely overwhelmed with the cost of having the type of wedding we wanted. While everyone has different ideas about what “budget wedding” means (shouldn’t that really mean any wedding with a set budget?), and some might not consider our wedding a “budget wedding” at all, we’ve tried really hard to remain within our means and to save  money where we can.

In the beginning of our engagement I sought out all sorts of “budget wedding” advice, but was super frustrated when I realized so much of it did not apply to us. Having a backyard potluck wedding was not an option for us. Not only because that wasn’t exactly what we envisioned, but also because we don’t have a backyard or any relatives close by who might be able to help out. I don’t have a sister who is a baker, uncle photographer or nephew DJ. I’m not much of a DIYer, I’m not comfortable with having a family member officiate, and I love flowers.

Okay, so maybe I just sound difficult, but I really wondered if we were doomed to have a wedding that cost more than we were comfortable with. Of course I wish we could spend a little less than we are, but I’m also really happy with how everything is turning out and have savored the opportunities to save a bit when we can.

Anyway, I’m not an expert, but I thought it’d be fun to start sharing some of the ways I found to save money on our wedding, since I’m sure I’m not the only one out there with the same predicament.

Please check back later this week for the first installment of Savvy Wedding Wednesday!

One thought on “introducing “savvy wedding wednesday”

Leave a Reply

