Off to a reasonably good start

After just ten days, I’m back down to my pre-holiday, five-pounds-lighter self.  Woo.  While five pounds in ten days is hardly epic, I’m happy to have accomplished this by simply trying to get my habits as back to normal as possible.  For the most part that involves avoiding lots of carbs and massive amounts of sugar as well as nightly walks after dinner.  That’s it.

scale

While I did just have a nasty stomach flu, I can hardly credit that for any weight loss.  As a matter of fact, I don’t attribute any weight loss to that at all.  As soon as I stopped puking my brains out and started eating again, all I wanted was Pad-See-Ew and bubble tea.  For the record, I drank more bubble tea in three days than I’d normally have in two months (that stuff is my guilty pleasure).   When you’re sick you’ve got to just listen to what your stomach wants, right?

I still have a long way to go in reaching my fitness and weight-loss goals, but I find this inspiring because it solidifies what works best for me (thought not for everyone) and that’s adopting more healthy habits without making any major drastic changes.

As for adopting healthy habits, I’m back on my quest to “addict” myself to yoga tonight.  I purchased an unlimited monthly pass for a new studio from Living Social and I hope to make the most of it.  Even better, I’ll have company from one of my Bay Area Brides to Be, so maybe I’ll get a local yoga buddy out of this too.

One thought on “Off to a reasonably good start

Leave a Reply

