Tales from the mat: Just Breathe (Class 1)

One of my fitness goals this year is to stick to a regular yoga practice.  Over the years I’ve gone to a handful of classes and have had a few very short spurts of going regularly but I still consider myself a beginner.  While I know the difference between Downward Dog and Child’s Pose, Downward Dog sure doesn’t feel like a “resting” pose to me.  Hello screaming arms and hamstrings.  I’ve got a long way to go.

As I prepared for this week’s Heated Vinyassa Flow Basics class at Just Breathe Yoga in Santa Clara, I felt like a bit of an impostor.  Dressed in my new (albeit clearance rack) Lululemon outfit I packed up my new Gaim yoga bag and thought to myself, “I really look like I know what I’m doing.”  The reality is, it’s much easier to bribe myself to go with fun stuff and new outfits.

Image from justbreatheyogarivermark.com

I arrived to the studio about 15 minutes early and my new buddy from Bay Area Brides to Be was already there (can I tell you how much I love people who are on time??!!).  We chose mildly ambiguous mat  space in the middle of the room and nervously waited for class to start as the instructor distributed flame less candles throughout the room.  Super nice touch!

Overall the class, which included crunches, was a great workout and I’m still feeling quite a bit sore today. The instructor was soft-spoken and very hands-on with adjustments, which I like.  The pace was close to how I think it should be for a basics class, but some of the poses, like Tripod Head Stand, left me wondering if I was in the right class. While I don’t have much knowledge of other Bay Area studios, the space was clean and simple with ample parking, but was a bit on the small side compared to Yoga @ Cindy’s (the first studio I tried here).

I’m currently on a Groupon/Living Social yoga spree as I search for my home studio (and save money) so I’ll be finishing out my 30 days here and look forward to reporting on future classes.   Till then – Namaste!

3 thoughts on “Tales from the mat: Just Breathe (Class 1)

  1. I was more than happy to find this net-site.I wished to thanks for your time for this glorious read!! I undoubtedly having fun with each little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  2. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Cheers!

    • Hi Jon – I’m not sure why that is happening. So sorry! That must be very annoying. I’m looking into figuring it out but I’m not sure if I can fix it on my end.

Leave a Reply

