My New Travel Buddy, Beatrix Runs

In the last 18 months I’ve flown cross-country more times than I can count.  Literally.  I think I lost count sometime around last March.   I’m pretty sure I flew more last year than I did in all of the entire twenty something years before combined.  While I’ve probably complained about this more than I should, I’m quite grateful for this experience.  Leaving on the red-eye from San Jose at 10:30 pm PT, arriving in New York at 7 am ET and going straight to work wasn’t exactly ideal, but I did it (many times).  That’s love.

Once I moved out here I thought the traveling would slow down, but oh how I was wrong.  There were graduations, weddings, business trips and holidays to celebrate.  Each trip has been a blessing in its own way – new cities to see, new family to meet and memories to be made, but oh those flights.  It’s been nice to finally have my fiance Chris as a travel buddy, but that also means I’m stuck with the middle seat.  

Anyway, before one of the last few trips of 2011 I was scanning iTunes trying to find something new/different/exciting for my in-flight playlist when I stumbled upon a free single from a new artist, Elizaveta.  The song was Dreamer and I was instantly in love.  The song is a little Imogen Heap-esque, but her voice is truly genuine and unique.  I immediately bought the Elizaveta EP, which was on repeat for that trip and many after.  My favorite song was Meant.

When I learned Elizaveta would be doing a two-show mini-tour before the holidays, with a stop in San Francisco at Cafe Du Nord, I couldn’t have been more excited.  That was until I learned it was going to be late-night before an early flight to Seattle the next day.  Since the trip was a business trip for Chris, who would be going straight into an all day meeting, I did what any good fiancée would do and told him we could skip the show.  Thankfully, he did what any even better fiance would do, and said there was no way we were going to miss it … and I’m glad we didn’t.  While I selfishly hope all of her shows remain small and intimate, I’d also like to believe I had a once in a lifetime chance to see her up close before she starts selling out much larger venues.  Though we were a bit sleepy the next morning, it was totally worth it.  We probably would have been sleepy getting up at 5 am no matter what.

Elizaveta @ Cafe Du Nord (sorry for the horrible quality cell phone pic)

A few weeks after that trip, we were sitting in the airport waiting for a delayed flight home from Tennessee when I read a Tweet about how to order Elizaveta’s older EP, Breakfast with Chopin, which I’d recently been trying to figure out how to get my hands on. (As I’m writing this I just discovered she has another even older EP, which I must also find a way to get my hands on!)  Chris instantly ordered it for me from his iPhone (I love technology) and it arrived, signed, a few weeks later. Yippee!

My signed copy of Breakfast with Chopin

Anyway, the point I’m trying to make is that Elizaveta is awesome and her music has been with me, in one way or another, on all of my recent travels.  I’m so excited to have discovered her so I just had to share.

If you’re looking for something new you should definitely give her album, Beatrix Runs, a listen.  While her style is fairly poppish it has  some unique opera influence (she’s a trained opera singer after all).  Her songs are both catchy and sentimental and a bit reminiscent of Regina Spektor, Imogen Heap, Fiona Apple and I swear sometimes there’s a tiny bit of Alicia Keys thrown in there, but either way, her sound is one of its own.  I can’t wait to take Beatrix Runs on my next travel adventure, which will likely be a seven hour drive to LA for my friend’s 30th birthday party.

Leave a Reply

