Tarragon Chicken Salad

As a single girl living in New York City I lived off of leftovers.  I’d whip something up on a Sunday and eat it all week for lunch, I almost always cooked dinners that lasted for two nights, and sometimes when I was low on cash I’d fill up on bread at restaurants so I could take most of my entrée home to eat again.  Now, living with a man, there are hardly ever leftovers.  Dinner is almost always just enough for the two of us, so on the rare occasion that there are leftovers, it’s fun to embrace.

Last week, after grilling up a bunch of chicken wings and thighs using my favorite marinade,  we had two thighs leftover the next day – a perfect opportunity for chicken salad.  I never thought my simple recipe was all that unique, but when I was checking out at my favorite store the cashier asked what I planned to do with the tarragon I was purchasing, so in case you’re also wondering what to do with tarragon, here goes!

Archer Farms Tarragon

Tarragon Chicken Salad (2-3 servings)

2  grilled chicken thighs (or an approximate equivalent)

1/4-1/3 cup mayonnaise

2-3 teaspoons tarragon

2 celery stalks

salt and pepper to taste

Start by removing the chicken from the bone and cutting into small bite-sized cubes.  Place the chicken in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Chop the celery into small pieces and add to the chicken.

chopped chicken and celery

Add 1/4 cup of mayonnaise and mix.  If you prefer a creamier salad, you can add more (up to 1/3 of a cup or so).  Next, add two teaspoons of tarragon then mix and taste. I added three, but that might be too  much for some. Once you’ve reached your desired tarragon flavor add salt and pepper to taste.

tarragon chicken salad

This recipe is super simple and the tarragon gives it a little more flair than normal chicken salad.  You can use it in a sandwich or eat it alone, which is a great low-carb option.

 

Leave a Reply

