Garlic Kale Chips

I can’t say I care a lot about that big game that’s on TV today.  I know that probably makes you question my East coast allegiance, but to be honest, I’ve never cared all that much.  What I do care about, is food.  In an effort to be more frugal and healthful, I’ve done a bit more cooking than usual this weekend and came up with a few tasty (and healthy) Super Bowl treats.  This one is so quick and easy you can whip up a batch right now before the game is over (don’t you need an excuse to get away from the TV anyway?).

Garlic Kale Chips

Ingredients:

1 large bunch of kale

1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

sea salt to taste

fresh kale

Start by preheating the oven to 300 degrees F and then carefully wash and dry the kale.  Dirt likes to hide around the stem and in the folds of the leaves, so this step is important.

Next you’ll want to remove the thick middle spine.  The easiest way to do this is to put the leaf face down on a cutting board and slice along each side of the spine with a very sharp paring knife (thanks to my future mother-in-law to buying us an awesome new knife set for Christmas!).

Next you’ll want to cut or tear the leaves into potato chip sized pieces.  Place the kale pieces into a large mixing bowl and add the olive oil, garlic powder and salt. Though your instincts may suggest using lots of salt, you should try to refrain.  Kale is naturally salty and if you add too much they’ll taste more like the ocean.  I made this mistake the first time around.  Practice restraint and salt lightly!  You can always add more later.

Toss the kale to coat evenly with oil and seasoning then place on a baking sheet in a single layer.  Depending on the size of your kale bunch, you may need two.

Bake for 20 minutes or until crisp and enjoy!  While you shouldn’t have any issues quickly devouring these salty treats, I recommend eating them while they’re still a little warm as they don’t keep too well overnight.  Not only are kale chips super addicting, they only have about two net carbohydrates per ounce and are rich with antioxidants.  Eat up!

tasty garlic kale chips

3 thoughts on “Garlic Kale Chips

  1. I know the ones you buy are really expensive, so I will try to make them at home. I find that just tearing the leaves away from the stem on the Kale is faster than cutting. Once you get into a rhythm you can do it pretty quickly.

  2. I’ll have to try ripping the stems next time. I mostly just wanted an excuse to use/show off my new knives. Lately I’ve also been drizzling Sriracha on a few before baking, which gives a good kick.

Leave a Reply

