I Used to be a Hater (Happy Valentine’s Day)

Sure, it’s easy for me to say I no longer loathe Valentine’s Day.  This is my second Valentine’s Day with Chris and first as a happily engaged couple, but it’s not just about that.

I’ve truly never been that into the holiday, at least not past when I realized it was about more than my dad buying me stuffed animals and chocolates.  I always thought it was a silly Hallmark holiday and that you should show your love every day, not just on Valentine’s Day … and I thought that even when I did have dates.

While I still believe those to be true, this morning I realized something had changed. As I was carving hearts out of Colby Jack cheese to put on Chris’ fried eggs, I thought about how it’s nice to have an excuse to be extra cheesy (no pun intended). Doing something a little extra on Valentine’s Day doesn’t mean you’re not doing enough throughout the year.  Even if you do a great job showing how much you love someone all year round, you’re probably not putting heart-shaped cheese on eggs every day … unless you’re Martha Stewart that is.

One thought on “I Used to be a Hater (Happy Valentine’s Day)

Leave a Reply

