March Photo a Day: Fruit

Fruit

When I set out to photograph the orange grove behind my apartment this morning, I figured it’d be a ten minute trip. Unfortunately the trees are a bit farther away than I thought (and behind a fence) so I couldn’t really get the best photo, at least not with my iPhone. On the other hand, as I walked around snapping different angles, the sunshine really got to me. In a good way. I was having one of those “I can’t believe I live somewhere that has palm trees (and orange trees)” moments. It may seem silly, but after meeting a fellow East Coast transplant earlier this week, I realize it’s a common sentiment. Growing up, palm trees meant two things; movies and vacation.

After taking my photos I decided to head over to the Starbucks in my apartment complex. I guess I was just in a reflective mood, but as I was walking everything felt kind of surreal. Sometimes I feel like my apartment complex really is the center of Silicon Valley. It’s surrounded by orange groves, beautiful mountains and tech companies. The sun was shining brightly as I walked, and as I passed others who were out enjoying the day, I heard at least four different languages being spoken.

Like many New Yorkers, while living there, I believed the city was the center of the universe. While I still do in a sense, I’m starting to feel like Silicon Valley is too (or maybe the world just revolves around me?)

I ended up sitting outside Starbucks reading in the sun for almost two hours, all because I went outside to take a photo for this challenge.  I can’t wait to see what the next 29 days bring!

Bonus photo of the day

2 thoughts on “March Photo a Day: Fruit

Leave a Reply

