Tales From the Mat: Dharma Studio (Classes 1 & 2)

It’s been a while since my first, and only, class at YogaSource Los Gatos. I won’t make any excuses, but I will tell you that I finally broke down and joined 24 Hour Fitness two weeks ago to get back into spinning, and I’ve been going to three classes per week so far.

While I’ve definitely been focusing my efforts on the gym lately, I haven’t given up on yoga just yet. My intent was to check out a class at the gym, though gym yoga isn’t really my favorite, and also to get myself back to YogaSource. Well, that all went out the window when I was having coffee with a new friend last week. She’s also a yoga newbie and has been studio shopping too. She had just purchased a LivingSocial deal for 30 days unlimited at a Dharma Studio in Santa Clara, and before you could say “namaste,” I whipped out my iPhone and bought one too. I have a problem.

I was feeling a bit guilty for not giving YogaSource another shot before trying a new studio, but I think I made the right decision. Dharma Studio is part of A Center for Natural Healing, so while part of me wondered what the heck I was getting myself into, part of me also had higher expectations for their instructors, and I’m happy to say I was right!

When I entered the studio on Friday morning, the first thing I noticed was the size. It was much smaller than the other places I’ve tried out here so far, but felt oddly familiar, as it reminded me more of some of the studios in New York City that I’ve been to. When class began, and I realized I was one of just four students, I started to panic (okay, maybe panic is a bit extreme). The instructor was going to see my every move. Everyone was going to see my every move. I couldn’t hide. Yikes! Then I took a moment to focus myself and to remind myself why I was there and what this is all about. Truly I was lucky to be one of four students, and to have such personal attention. It was exactly what I needed.

The pace of the class was definitely geared towards beginners. Though it was slow, the instructor made us work. There was no flopping down on the mat during chaturanga (fellow beginning yogis know what I’m talking about), but instead she modified the pose and made us practice over and over until our arms burned (or at least mine did).

I left the class feeling like I could actually learn something at Dharma Studio, and left the next class feeling even better. On the downside, the schedule there isn’t too great, but it might be just enough to supplement my new gym routine with a few classes a week. Needless to say, I’m actually excited to go back to this place (and having a buddy definitely helps too).

 

Leave a Reply

