Tales from the Mat: Dharma Studio (Classes 11-13 or so) and #plankaday

I’m finally getting into the yoga groove I’ve been hoping for and it feels awesome. I actually finished out my 30-day trial at Dharma Studio and purchased another 30-day unlimited pass last night. They only charge $69 per month since their schedule is kind of limited, but at that price it’s a steal. Most other studios I’ve been to charge at least $100.

Anyway, at the risk of sounding kind of lame, last night’s class was somewhat magical. I think it was partly because I finally made the transition from Living Social trial membership to actually buying a pass and committing to continuing my practice, but it was more than that.

Lately class sizes have averaged around six to ten people, but last night there were only three of us, just like my first class. Instead of feeling extra anxious or self-conscious about it, I was actually kind of excited for the personal attention. The instructor challenged us with new poses, and I think I did pretty darn okay on them.

The best part of class was really the atmosphere. For some reason the studio was extra warm last night, so we opened all of the windows, which span almost an entire wall of the studio. By the end of class a cool breeze was streaming in and the absence of screens allowed the  sheer curtain panels to swirl in wind. The sky turned gray as the sun set last night, giving the room an eerie, yet refreshing feel.

It was the perfect night to start my next 30 days.

On another semi-related note, I stumbled upon this “plank a day” challenge on Fit Chick in the City, which originates from FU Diet. It’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like. Participants do a plank pose, which is an awesome, yet challenging, core strengthener each day and then tweet about it with the hash tag #plankaday. I’ve got just about a month till Chris and I head to Mexico for vacation, so I think I’m going to give it a shot. I’m sure I won’t have six-pack abs by then, but every little bit helps (especially if I keep going to events like this for Truckista). Hopefully it goes better than my “photo a day” challenge.

If you want to join me in “plank a day,” or keep track, follow me on twitter @nicolemamato and let me know in the comments. I always love moral support!

5 thoughts on “Tales from the Mat: Dharma Studio (Classes 11-13 or so) and #plankaday

  1. Awesome! A huge yoga fan here too (I’ve been doing it a little over a year). Glad you are getting so much out of the experience!! I’m also a #plankaday ‘er. I am following you on Twitter (I’m @biggreenpen). Nice to “meet” you!!

  2. Great post! Congrats on discovering yoga! I am a plankaday-er also! Following on Twitter (I’m @biggreenpen).

Leave a Reply

